Elevation of Archbishop Seán Brady to the College of Cardinals

- > Programme
- ➤ Irish Bishops attending the Consistory on 24 November 2007

NB This timetable is provisional only and may be subject to change. Tickets are required for the Consistory on Saturday 24 November and the Mass of the Rings on Sunday 25 November. Tickets are not required for the 'Visite di Calore' on Saturday 24 November, or the Audience of His Holiness Pope Benedict with the New Cardinals on Monday 26 November, or the Mass in the Lateran Basilica and reception at the Pontifical Irish College on Monday 26 November.

Friday November 23

8:00pm Irish College informal reception for media and

bishops

Saturday November 24

10.30 am Consistory for the Creation of New Cardinals

St Peter's Square

12:00 Holy Father prays the Angelus

12:45 Irish College press conference

13:15 Irish College private lunch for Cardinal Brady

4.30 pm – 6.30 pm *'Visite di Calore'*

(Translates as visits of warmth or courtesy)

An opportunity to visit and greet each new Cardinal individually in the Apostolic Palace, at the Vatican

Sunday November 25

10.30 am Mass of the Rings

St Peter's Square

The new Cardinals are conferred with rings by Pope

Benedict and are assigned a Church in Rome

Monday November 26

11.00 am Audience of Pope Benedict with the New Cardinals

in The Paul VI (Nervi) Audience Hall for family

members, friends and pilgrims

4.30 pm Mass celebrated by Cardinal Brady in the Lateran

Basilica, followed by a reception at the Pontifical

Irish College

Thursday, 29 November

10.20 am Arrive Dublin Airport - Flight EI153

Greeted by An Taoiseach Bertie Ahern TD

11.00 am In celebration of the elevation of Cardinal Seán Brady to

the College of Cardinals, a Liturgical Service of Welcome will take place at the Dublin Airport Church. Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, the Archbishop of Dublin, will preside over this liturgical service which will involve the participation of local school children. Archbishop John Neill, the Church of Ireland Archbishop of Dublin, will

also be in attendance.

11.15 am Depart Dublin Airport

12.00 noon Arrive Drogheda - lunch

12.30 pm – 1.15 pm St Peter's Church, Drogheda

1.30 pm – 1.45 pm Siena Convent, Drogheda

2.00 pm – 2.15 pm Collon Monastery

2.30 pm - 3.00 pm Ardee

3.30 pm – 4.15 pm St Patrick's, Dundalk

Border Crossing

5.00 pm – 5.15 pm Newtownhamilton

5.30 pm - 6.00 pm Keady

6.15 pm - 6.30 pm Ballymacnab

7.00 pm Arrive outskirts of Armagh

The streets of Armagh City will be bedecked with flags, papal and cardinalateral, as the Parish of Armagh welcomes home its new Cardinal. The great carillon bells of St Patrick's Cathedral will be played by Baron George Minne at 12 noon to mark the entry into the Archdiocese at Drogheda of our new Cardinal.

All bands, organisations and associations participating in the welcoming parade will assemble at 6.30pm in the grounds of the old customs station at the Monaghan Road, and move off at 6.50pm sharp. The Cardinal will review the parade at this junction. **The parade will commence at 7.00pm sharp** as the Cardinal boards an open top vehicle, flanked by members of the Scouts, Order of Malta and Knights of St Columbanus. A mobile public address system will keep the waiting public informed of the arrival of the Cardinal on the outskirts of the City and the progress of the parade. More than sixty stewards will be on hand to facilitate parking and to ensure the parade's smooth passage. Parking will be available at Greenpark CBS P.S., St Malachy's Church, St Patrick's Cathedral, St Patrick's Grammar School, Shambles Yard, City Hall, and Lonsdale Road car parks.

The parade will make its way through Armagh City via Irish Street, Ogle Street, Thomas Street, English Street, and Cathedral Road.

On arrival at St Patrick's Cathedral gates at 7.45pm sharp, the Cardinal will alight from the open top vehicle and climb the steps of the Cathedral. **His Eminence will be chief celebrant at a special concelebrated Mass to mark his homecoming, commencing at 8.00pm sharp**. This Mass is being broadcast live on RTE Radio 1 medium wave (567, 729 kHz). The new Cardinal will address the people at 8.15 pm, his first such address as Cardinal Primate Archbishop. The ceremony will be transmitted throughout the Cathedral grounds on the external public address system. The Cathedral Choir will sing under the direction of Mr Colm Murphy. The Choir of St Paul's High School, Bessbrook, will also sing.

The parade and Mass promise to be very memorable occasions, full of colour, song, and celebration. The Parish of Armagh has respectfully suggested in honour of the new Cardinal, and to facilitate parents' and pupils' being part of the homecoming celebrations, that all schools of the Parish might waive the obligation of homework on the evening of 29 November.

Taking part in the parade will be brothers, Tom and Frank McCabe of Camlough Silver Band who led Cardinal Dalton into Armagh in 1953, Cardinal Conway in 1965, Cardinal O Fiaich in 1979, Cardinal Daly in 1991 and now 54 years on, will lead Cardinal Brady into the Primatial City.

➤ Irish Bishops attending the consistory for the creation of Archbishop Seán Brady as a cardinal, St Peter's Square, Rome, on 24 November 2007

His Eminence Cardinal Cahal Daly

His Eminence Cardinal Desmond Connell

Archbishop Dermot Clifford, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly

Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, Archbishop of Dublin

Archbishop Michael Neary, Archbishop of Tuam

Bishop Philip Boyce, Bishop of Raphoe

Bishop Gerard Clifford, Auxiliary Bishop of Armagh

Bishop Joseph Duffy, Bishop of Clogher

Bishop Anthony Farquhar, Auxiliary Bishop of Down and Connor

Bishop Ray Field, Auxiliary Bishop of Dublin

Bishop Martin Drennan, Bishop of Galway

Bishop John Fleming, Bishop of Killala

Bishop Christopher Jones, Bishop of Elphin

Bishop John Kirby, Bishop of Clonfert

Bishop Francis Lagan, Auxiliary Bishop of Derry

Bishop William Lee, Bishop of Waterford and Lismore

Bishop John Magee, Bishop of Cloyne

Bishop Donal McKeown, Auxiliary Bishop of Down and Connor

Bishop William Murphy, Bishop of Kerry

Bishop Donal Murray, Bishop of Limerick

Bishop John McAreavey, Bishop of Dromore

Bishop Colm O'Reilly, Bishop of Ardagh and Clonmacnoise

Bishop Leo O'Reilly, Bishop of Kilmore

Bishop Michael Smith, Bishop of Meath

Bishop Patrick Walsh, Bishop of Down and Connor