The Archbishop of Armagh, Eamon Martin, announces the following clergy appointments, effective 3 September 2016.

Archbishop Eamon thanks the priests for their continued ministry and service in the Archdiocese and wishes them well in taking up these new appointments.  He also thanks the people of the Archdiocese of Armagh for their ongoing prayers and support of their priests. He encourages them to welcome their new pastors in the coming weeks.

Rt Rev. Mgr Christopher O’Byrne, PE, AP, Magherafelt, to retire and to be Priest-in-Residence, Magherafelt.

V Rev Sean F Quinn, PP, Louth, to retire and to be Priest-in-Residence, Tallanstown.

Rev Thomas McNulty, CC, Cooley, retired on 12 May 2016, to be Priest-in-Residence, Cooley.

Rev Fergus Breslan, CC, Middle Killeavy, to become Assistant Pastor St Patrick’s, Dundalk (part-time), and Diocesan Liaison Priest with Redemptoris Mater House of Formation, Dundalk, / Neocatechumenal Way in the Archdiocese.

V Rev Peter Kerr, PP, Killcluney (Ballymacnab, Clady & Granemore), following a period of sabbatical leave, to be PE, AP, Cathedral Parish, Armagh (effective from First Sunday of Advent.)

V Rev Gerard McGinnity, PP, Knockbridge, retired on 30 May 2016.

Rev John McGoldrick, returning from sabbatical leave, to be CC, Aughnacloy (Aghaloo & Carnteel), residing in Caledon and to act as Adm Aughnacloy (Aghaloo & Carnteel) pro-tem.

Rev Sean McArdle, SM, to be PP, Louth.

Rev Kevin Donaghy, retiring as Principal of St Patrick’s Grammar School, Armagh, to take a period of sabbatical leave.

Rev Desmond Branigan, CC, St Patrick’s, Dundalk, to be CC, Magherafelt.

V Rev Gerard Campbell, PP, EV, Kilkerley, also to be PP, Knockbridge.

V Rev Joseph McKeever, PP, Crossmaglen, to retire on medical grounds (effective 30 September 2016.)

Rev Gregory Carvill, Adm, Aughnacloy (Aghaloo & Carnteel), to be PP, Kilcluney (Ballymacnab, Clady & Granemore).

Rev Patrick Rushe, VF, in addition to chaplaincy duties, to be part-time CC, Kilkerley, and Diocesan Education Secretary (Co Louth).

Rev Neil O’Donoghue, CC, Holy Redeemer, Dundalk (part-time), to be full-time Vice-Rector of the Redemptoris Mater House of Formation, Dundalk.  Fr Neil will assist with the parish of Crossmaglen (Creggan Upper) until January 2017.

Rev. Brian White, CC, Hagardstown and Blackrock, also to be Director of the Permanent Diaconate, Archdiocese of Armagh.

Rev Liam McKinney, CC, VF, Crossmaglen (Creggan Upper,) to act as Adm, Crossmaglen (Creggan Upper) until appointment of a new Parish Priest in January 2017 (effective 30 September 2016.)

Rev. Thomas McHugh, CC, Armagh, also to be Chairperson, Armagh Diocesan Youth Commission.

Rev Sean McGuigan, CC Cookstown (Desertcreight & Derryloran), to be CC Holy Redeemer, Dundalk, and to offer support in the Armagh Diocesan Pastoral Centre, Dundalk.

Rev Damien Quigley, newly ordained, to be CC, Middle Killeavy, and a member of the Chaplaincy Team to Daisy Hill Hospital, Newry.  He will also become a member of the Diocesan Vocations Commission.

29 July 2016