Liturgy Commission

The Diocesan Liturgy Commission under the guidance of the Cardinal aims to:

  • Be aware of the Liturgical needs of the parishes in the diocese;
  • Listen, support and advise parishes regarding liturgical matters;
  • Promote and plan practical initiatives for sacramental celebrations;
  • Provide resources to individuals and to parishes and to network with other agencies in the diocese.

The following areas of work are covered by the Commission.

  • Providing resources for the Liturgical year
  • LitMus courses
  • Materials for annual days of prayer and reflection for Ministers of the Word and Ministers of the Eucharist
  • Resources for Family masses and diocesan gatherings
  • Training for Baptism teams
  • Advent and Lenten initiatives
  • Resource books for parishes
  • The provision of on-going resources to meet contemporary needs

The Diocesan Liturgy Commission is involved in a number of initiatives. It offers training for Ministers of the Word. A copy of the CD Rom on reading has been forwarded to parishes and will be of great use for future training at parish level.

A resource booklet for the celebration of funerals has also been made available to parishes by the Liturgy Commission. It contains readings, prayers, reflections, music suggestions and alternative prayer experiences/liturgies, which may be used around the time of death. We have also prepared a prayer card with a simple liturgy, which could be used in homes at times of death.

We regularly host evenings based on Pastoral Liturgy. These are specifically geared towards parish liturgy groups. The programmes help to deepen an understanding of different aspects of liturgy and enhance an understanding of what it means to be a member of a parish liturgy group.

At the request of the Commission, the Archbishop wrote to the priests of the Diocese to encourage the reception of Eucharist under both species. Included with this request was a list of guidelines for the celebration of the Year of the Eucharist, which was also prepared by the Commission.

We regularly host workshops in Sacred Music, in an effort to encourage the development of music in parishes. These workshops are very success and provide music resources both new and old to parishes.

We are constantly formulating new and exciting ventures.

There are fourteen members on the  Diocesan Liturgy Commission and is chaired by Sr. Máiréad Ní Fhearáin OSC.
The fourteen members are as follows:
Mr Sean Boylan        Rev. Cathal Devenny        Mrs Deirdre Frame        Mr Francis Hagan
Mr Brendan McCourt        Sr Philomena McGlone        Rev Liam McKinney        Sr Bernadine Moran
Mr Colm Murphy        Rev Pádraig Murphy        Ms Bernadette Shevlin (Sec.)        Rev Michael Woods      Jacinta Quinn